Nominate or Apply for an ACE Leadership Award
August 12, 2019

​​​The honors will be presented at ACE2020 next March in San Diego.

Recognize an outstanding institution or individual for leadership in the areas of diversity and the advancement of women with an ACE Award. Applications and nominations are now open for three of the awards to be presented at ACE2020, ACE's 102nd Annual Meeting, March 14-16, in San Diego, California.

Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award

According to a recent ACE report on Race and Ethnicity in Higher Education, the share of undergraduates who are students of color has risen 15 percent since 1996. However, completion rates and student debt levels remain uneven and diversity among college faculty, staff, and administrators still does not reflect that of the student population. Higher education has come a long way towards equity, but there is much work still to be done. The Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award acknowledges leaders making strides in this area.

Established to honor Reginald Wilson, the founding director of the Office of Minority Concerns, this award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated leadership and commitment on a national level to the advancement of racial and ethnic minorities and other underrepresented populations in higher education.

Click here to nominate an individual.

The 2019 Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership award was presented at ACE2019 to Shaun R. Harper, Provost Professor of Business and Executive Director of the Race and Equity Center, University of Southern California.

Donna Shavlik Award

The Donna Shavlik award was established by ACE in 1999 to honor the long and outstanding service of Donna Shavlik, past director of ACE's former Office of Women in Higher Education. The award honors an individual whose leadership demonstrates a sustained commitment to advancing women in higher education through actions or initiatives enhancing women's leadership and career development, campus climate, and mentoring of women at both the state and national levels.

Click here to nominate an individual.

The 2019 Donna Shavlik award was presented to Carol S. Leary, president of Bay Path University during the ACE2019 Women's Leadership Dinner.

ACE State Network Leadership Award

The ACE State Network Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women in Higher Education recognizes an outstanding and innovative program, sponsored by an ACE State Network or by a college or university that helped advance or support women or women's issues in higher education.

Click here to nominate a program or initiative.

The 2019 ACE State Network Leadership Award went to the ACE Women's Network – Ohio (ACE WNO) and was accepted by Shanda Gore, ACE WNO state co-chair and executive director, University Toledo, and Robin Selzer, ACE WNO state co-chair and associate professor, University of Cincinnati, at the Women's Network Reception prior to the Women's Leadership Dinner at ACE2019.

Submissions for all three awards are due Oct. 18, 2019. For additional information, please email or call 202-939-9376.