Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award


​​​​Established to honor Reginald Wilson, senior scholar emeritus at ACE and founding director of the Council's Office of Minority Concerns, the award is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to diversity in American higher education.

The award will be presented at ACE2020, the American Council on Education's 102nd Annual Meeting in San Diego, California.

If you have any questions about the Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award, please email or 202-939-9376.

Past Award Recipients

2019 - Shaun R. Harper, Provost Professor of Business and Executive Director of the Race and Equity Center, University of Southern California ​​  
​2018 - Janet Napolitano, President, University of California 
​2017 - Mildred García, President, California State University, Fullerton
​2016 - Santa J. Ono, President, University of Cincinnati​ 
​2015 - Amy Gutmann, President, University of Pennsylvania 
2014 - Charlene M. Dukes, President, Prince ​George’s Community College (MD)
2013 - Johnnetta B. Cole, Director, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution
2012 - James M. Rosser, President, California State University, Los Angeles
2011 - Nancy Cantor, Chancellor and President, Syracuse University (NY)
2010 - Bob Suzuki, President Emeritus, California Polytechnic University, Pomona
2009 - Freeman A. Hrabowski III, President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
2008 - Eduardo J. Padron, President, Miami Dade College (FL)

William E. Cox, President/CEO, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education
Frank L. Matthews, Publisher and Editor-in-Chief, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education
James Moeser, Former Chancellor, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Diana S. Natalicio, President, The University of Texas at El Paso

Tomas Arciniega, President Emeritus, California State University-Bakersfield
Jacquelyn M. Belcher, President Emeritus, Georgia Perimeter College
Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis, Chancellor Emeritus, Indiana University-Bloomington

Juliet V. Garcia, Former President, The University of Texas at Brownsville
Frank H.T. Rhodes, President Emeritus, Cornell University
John B. Slaughter, Former President and CEO, The National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, Inc.; Former Chancellor, University of Maryland College Park; and former President, Occidental University
Tom Joyner, Nationally Syndicated Radio Personality and Philanthropist

Jewel Plummer Cobb, President and Professor of Biological Science Emerita, and Fullerton and Trustee Professor, California State University, Fullerton
James J. Duderstadt, President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, University of Michigan
Alfredo G. de los Santos Jr., Former Vice Chancellor for Educational and Student Development, Maricopa Community Colleges, and Research Professor, Arizona State University


F​ind More on ACE Engage

Explore related resources on ACE Engage®​, ​​ ACE's peer-to-peer learning platform. ACE Engage includes access to a curated content library, microcourses, exclusive events, and more. 

Race And Equity Group

Chief Diversity Officers Group

(If you are not currently an ACE Engage user, learn more about joining​ or create your account​.)​