ACE/APL nextED Donna Shavlik Award


The Donna Shavlik Award was established by ACE in 1999 to honor the long and outstanding service of Donna Shavlik, past director of ACE’s former Office of Women in Higher Education. The award honors an individual whose leadership, both at colleges and universities and in national positions, has demonstrated a sustained and continuing commitment to the advancement of women through actions or initiatives enhancing women's leadership development, career development, campus climate, and mentoring opportunities of and for women.

The award will be presented during the Women’s Leadership Dinner on March 14, 2020, at ACE2020, ACE’s 102nd Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA.

If you have any questions about the Donna Shavlik Award, please email or call 202-939-9376.

Past Award Recipients

2019 - Carol S. Leary, President, Bay Path University (MA)
2018 - Judith S. White, President and Executive Director of HERS (Higher Education Resource Services)
2017 - Judy Genshaft, President, University of South Florida​​​
​2016 - ​Lucie Lapovsky, President, Lapovsky Consulting​
2015 - Madlyn Hanes, Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses for The Pennsylvania State University​
2014 - ​Elaine P. Maimon, Governors State University (IL)
2013 - Karen Haynes, President, California State University San Marcos​
2012 - Beverly Daniel Tatum, President, Spelman College (GA)
2011 - Susan L. Perry, Senior Advisor, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
2010 - Blenda J. Wilson, President Emerita, California State University, Northridge Educational Policy Consultant &
Board Chair, HERS
2009 - Peggy Ryan Williams, President Emerita, Ithaca College (NY)
2008 - Adrian Tinsley, President Emerita, Bridgewater State College (MA)
2007 - Yolanda T. Moses, Past President of the American Anthropological Association (VA), Professor of Anthropology and the Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Excellence at the University of California, Riverside
2006 - Donna Shalala, President, University of Miami
2005 - Caryn McTighe Musil, Senior Vice President, Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) (DC)
2004 - Bette E. Landman, President, Arcadia University (PA)
2003 - Bernice (Bunny) Sandler, Senior Scholar, Women's Research and Education Institute (DC)
2002 - Cynthia Secor, Founder, Summer Institute for Women in Higher Education Administration Bryn Mawr College (PA) and HERS New England Management Institute for Women in Higher Education, Wellesley College (MA)
2001 - Jan Holmgren, President, Mills College (CA)
2000 - Judy Touchton, former Associate Director, ACE's former Office of Women in Higher Education
1999 - Donna Shavlik, former Director, ACE's former Office of Women in Higher Education


ACE is grateful to APL nextED for its support of this award. APL nextED is a female-founded and owned education technology company that supports ACE’s commitment to advancing women in all facets of higher education leadership. The American Council on Education and APL nextED are independent entities and are not legally affiliated. The recipient of the ACE/APL nextED Donna Shavlik Award is selected solely by ACE.  APL nextED employees are not involved in any way in determining, selecting, or approving the recipient of any award.



​Nomination Closed

​Nominations for the 2020 ACE/APL nextED Donna Shavlik Award are now closed.