Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Email  Share  Print

ACE President Molly Corbett Broad on the Report of the Task Force on Federal Regulation of Higher Education

February 12, 2015

Regulation Task Force Report


​"This report contains an in-depth examination of how the federal oversight of higher education has expanded and evolved over the years. It offers a set of recommendations aimed at streamlining and simplifying regulations that undermine the ability of colleges and universities to serve their students, even as it reaffirms the important role regulations play in ensuring institutional accountability and responsible stewardship of taxpayer dollars. But excessive, unclear and overly complicated regulations benefit no one.

We greatly appreciate the vision of the bipartisan group of U.S. senators who created the Task Force on Federal Regulation of Higher Education—Sens. Lamar Alexander, Barbara Mikulski, Richard Burr and Michael Bennet—and are pleased that ACE could support its work and assist in producing this report. We also would like to express our thanks to the task force’s co-chairs, Chancellors William E. Kirwan of the University System of Maryland and Nicholas S. Zeppos of Vanderbilt University (TN), and to all task force members.

It was a privilege to serve on the task force, and I look forward to the Feb. 24 hearing of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions, when the report’s findings and recommendations can begin to be explored in detail."

In addition to Zeppos, Kirwan and Broad, the other task force members are: William L. Armstrong, president, Colorado Christian University; Bruce D. Benson, president, University of Colorado; Thomas V. Chema, president emeritus, Hiram College (OH); Margaret L. Drugovich, president, Hartwick College (NY); Dana G. Hoyt, president, Sam Houston State University (TX); Brice W. Harris, chancellor, California Community Colleges; Jonathan A. Kaplan, CEO, Laureate Online Education (MD); Cornelius M. Kerwin, president, American University (DC); J. Michael Locke, former CEO, Rasmussen College (IL); Harold L. Martin, chancellor, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University; Claude O. Pressnell Jr., president, Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association; Thomas W. Ross, president, University of North Carolina; and Robert G. Templin Jr., president, Northern Virginia Community College.

MEDIA CONTACT: Jon Riskind ▪ 202-939-9453 ▪​

Other ACE News


 Related Content


ACE Email Opt-In

Opt-into receive news and updates from ACE.