Marjorie Hass Receives 2024 ACE Donna Shavlik Award
March 13, 2024

​ACE is proud to announce that Marjorie Hass, president of The Council of Independent Colleges (CIC), has been selected to receive the 2024 ACE Donna Shavlik Award.

Headshot of Marjorie Hass

​​Marjorie Hass

“President Hass’ decades of leadership in higher education have been marked by a steadfast commitment to fostering the growth of female leaders,” said ACE President Ted Mitchell. “Her ongoing efforts to empower women in higher education embody the principles of the ACE Donna Shavlik Award.”

ACE established the Donna Shavlik Award to honor the long and exceptional service of Donna Shavlik, past director of ACE’s former Office of Women in Higher Education. Established in 1999 and presented annually, the award highlights an individual who has demonstrated a sustained commitment to advancing women in higher education through initiatives enhancing leadership and career development, campus climate, and mentoring.

Hass, who has led CIC since 2021, is a philosopher, leader, award-winning teacher, mentor, author, and an influential thinker in independent higher education. As president of CIC, she oversees the organization’s programming to ensure active involvement from its diverse membership, fosters financial health and innovation among members, and reinforces CIC’s position as a champion of independent higher education.

Prior to leading CIC, Hass served as president of Rhodes College and Austin College, and as provost and a member of the philosophy faculty at Muhlenberg College. She has served as a board member of CIC, the Association of American Colleges and Universities, and the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities. She is currently a member of the Board of Trustees at Brandeis University.

Hass, who earned bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees in philosophy from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, has been widely published on the philosophy of language, logic, and feminist philosophy, and she speaks frequently on leadership, shared governance, and the independent sector in higher education. Her book A Leadership Guide for Women in Higher Education combines data-informed insights and firsthand experience to educate and empower aspiring female higher education leaders.

“I am deeply honored to be recognized by ACE,” said Hass. “And I appreciate all those who have supported me and my efforts to empower women as leaders in higher education.”
The Donna Shavlik Award will be presented at the 2024 ACE Women’s Leadership Dinner March 20 in Washington, DC.

2024 ACE State Network Leadership Award

The recipient of the 2024 ACE State Network Leadership Award is the University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) Roundtable on Empowerment in Leadership and Leveraging Aspirations (UMBrella).

The ACE State Network Leadership Award, introduced in 2004, recognizes an extraordinary and innovative program sponsored by an ACE State Network or higher education institution that helps elevate or support women or women’s issues in higher education.

Photo of UMBrella founder and chair Jennifer Litchman sitting on a stage and interviewing UMB alum Tamika Tremaglio

​​UMBrella founder and chair Jennifer Litchman talks with Tamika Tremaglio, the keynote speaker at UMBrella's 2023 Women’s History Month Symposium

Founded in 2014, UMBrella helps women who work at UMB build community and provides resources that facilitate enhanced leadership skills, self-advocacy, and personal and professional success. Its programs have served nearly 6,000 women at UMB.

UMBrella’s signature offering is an eight-month group coaching program that engages women at all levels of the institution with supportive coaches, learning activities, self-assessment tools, and networking. Participants meet monthly in groups led by women in leadership roles at UMB to discuss career-related topics, such as self-confidence and communication. Currently in its sixth year, there are over 400 current participants and alumni. A report on the first four cohorts found that nearly half of program graduates earned a promotion, reevaluation, title change, or new appointment.

The initiative also offers scholarships that support women’s participation in conferences and trainings; an annual symposium that features keynote speakers, skill-building workshops, and networking opportunities; a speaker series focused on contemporary women’s issues; and an awards program that honors individuals at the university who champion women’s success.

“UMBrella provides women with indispensable resources that help them unlock their potential,” said Kim Lee, ACE’s director of community strategy and engagement. “This program’s comprehensive approach has made it easier than ever for women to envision a future in higher education leadership.”

The State Network Leadership Award will be presented at the 2024 ACE Women’s Leadership Dinner March 20 in Washington, DC. Jennifer Litchman, founder and chair of UMBrella and UMB’s senior vice president for external relations, will accept the award.

Media Contact
Jack Nicholson
Telephone:(202) 939-9352