Ten Institutions Selected for Inaugural ACE Learner Success Lab
July 13, 2020

Following an open call for applications and competitive selection process, ACE is welcoming ten institutions from across the United States into the pilot cohort of the Learner Success Laboratory (LSL). Institutions in the cohort serve a total of about 67,000 undergraduate learners and comprise a diverse range of two- and four-year, and public and private institutions, including several current or emerging Hispanic Serving Institutions.  

New this year, the LSL is part of a suite of Transformation Labs offered by ACE to guide colleges and universities through a structured strategic planning process to advance critical institutional priorities. Participants will work over a period of 12-18 months to integrate evidence-based practices for persistence and completion, life design and career exploration, and workforce skills development, ultimately producing a comprehensive strategy for learner success. The pilot cohort will begin work in October 2020 and is supported by a grant from the Strada Education Network.

“This is an important time to take action to further learner success, especially for post-traditional and traditionally underserved learners who are our new majority," said Lindsey Myers, director of the Learner Success Lab. “As higher education reshapes itself in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, institutions in the Learner Success Lab can leverage this opportunity to align their resources and build strategies that center and empower learners."

The members of the pilot cohort are:

  • Elon University
  • Iowa State University
  • Labouré College
  • Massasoit Community College
  • Richard Bland College of William & Mary
  • Southeast Missouri State University
  • Union Institute & University
  • University of Hawaii-West Oahu
  • Western Oregon University
  • Windward Community College