Nine Institutions Chosen for Second Cohort of ACE Learner Success Lab
September 13, 2021

​ACE is excited to welcome another diverse group of institutions into the second cohort of the Learner Success Laboratory (LSL). The newest cohort features nine institutions of various institutional types and includes three minority serving institutions, as well as the LSL’s first international institution.

The LSL is part of a suite of Transformation Labs offered by ACE to guide colleges and universities through a structured strategic planning process to advance critical institutional priorities. Participants will work over a period of about 18 months to integrate evidence-based practices for persistence and completion, life design, and career exploration, and workforce skills development, ultimately producing a comprehensive strategy for learner success. 

The second cohort will officially begin work in October with a virtual opening meeting where they will be matched with their expert advisor. LSL advisors bring wide-ranging experiences from running institutions of higher education, to merging them, and even creating brand new ones.

“As the pandemic plunged the world into upheaval, not only have we seen the importance of centering learners and supporting them on their path to success, but the resilience and agility of our Cohort 1 institutions demonstrated that doing this hard work of institutional transformation at this profoundly disruptive moment is, indeed, possible” said Lindsey Myers, director of the Learner Success Lab. “This year's cohort is prepared to meet that challenge head-on and we are proud to support them in this crucial work.”

The members of the second cohort are:

  • CETYS University (Mexico)
  • Clarke University
  • Florida International University
  • Lewis University
  • New Jersey City University
  • Rowan College at Burlington County
  • Southern University at Shreveport
  • Washington State University Tri Cities
  • Western Illinois University