Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

ACE Student of the Year Award

The Student of the Year Award is presented annually by ACE to an adult learner who has benefited from the use of ACE credit recommendations to earn a college degree or advance a career.

​ACE's Student of the Year Award recognizes a student who has benefited academically and professionally from making use of ACE's credit recommendations for workforce or military training.

In addition to the application of ACE credit recommendations for military or corporate training to a postsecondary degree program, award winners must demonstrate:

  • Continued success in academic, professional, personal and community endeavors.
  • Extraordinary achievement in his or her community or workplace while successfully balancing the demands of family, career and education.
  • Inspiration to others in setting high educational goals.

Nominees for the award are asked to submit a 300-word essay and a letter of support from a faculty member, academic advisor, or employer. A panel of judges is convened to review the profiles and select the award winner.

The ACE Student of the Year for 2014 will receive a $500 scholarship to continue his or her education and a travel honorarium to accept the award at ACE’s 97th Annual Meeting to be held March 14-17, 2015 in Washington, DC.

About the Student of the Year Program

The Student of the Year program (formerly the ACE Adult Learner of the Year program) was initiated in 1999 to coincide with the 25th anniversary of ACE’s College Credit Recommendation Service (ACE CREDIT) and to begin a national award that would embody the best attributes of ACE CREDIT’s hundreds of thousands of adult learners.

Each year since, ACE has solicited nominations of adult learners who have used ACE’s college credit recommendations for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Begin coursework at a college or university
  • Complete an academic degree
  • Advance in a career
  • Transition into a new career

In 2013, ACE expanded the award to include the academic and professional accomplishments of military service members and veterans.

Read our story about last year's award recipient

Contact us about ACE Student of the Year Award
 Nominations are no longer being accepted!
For more information, please contact us at or 866-205-6267.

ACE Adult Learner of the Year Award 
(Pictured at the award presentation at the ACE 2014 Annual Meeting, left to right: Vicki Berling, interim director of the Norse Advising Center at Northern Kentucky University; Chris Hammann, 2013 award winner; and Cathy Sandeen, ACE vice president for Education Attainment and Innovation)