ACE Women's Network Executive Council

Who We Are

​The ACE Women's Network Executive Council (WNEC) supports state networks through mentorship, leadership development and as a liaison between the network and the American Council on Education (ACE). The Council advises ACE on issues pertaining to the overall functioning of the ACE Women's Network and women's leadership needs in higher education. Members also serve as speakers and facilitators at ACE and state network events.

The Women's Network Executive Council in 2018

2018-2019 Women's Network Executive Council | Left to Right: Debbie Sydow, Marsha Krotseng, Madlyn Hanes, Maria Gallo, Deborah McCreery, Karen Schuster Webb, Ellen Kabat Lensch, Evie Myers, and Margaret Drugovich.

Our Regions


History

The name of the WNEC has changed, however they have largely functioned under the same mission. The WNEC started out in 1979 as the Senior Associates of National Identification Program (NIP). Associates were past presidents and served as mentors for women within the NIP program. The group was originally funded by the Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education. In 1991 they were named the National Executive Board of NIP and their mission was established to “promote cross fertilization among the state programs and increase the available support of their efforts" (Shavlik, 1991). The leadership of the WNEC helped to establish initiatives such as Moving the Needle and the Women's Leadership Legacy Fund.

Members

Term ending June 30, 2022

Elizabeth Davis
President
Furman University
864-294-2100 | elizabeth.davis@furman.edu
Assistant: Cindy Alexander (cindy.alexander@furman.edu)

Jesscia Egbert*
Member, Board of Trustees
Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions
jessicadegbert@gmail.com​

Kimberly (Kim) Lee*
Vice President for Special Projects
Southern Crescent Technical College
(770) 229-3267 | kimberly.lee@sctech.edu


Term ending June 30, 2024

Kimberly Andrews-Espy*
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
University of Texas at San Antonio
210-458-4110 | provost@utsa.edu
Assistant: Angela Griffith (angela.griffith@utsa.edu )

Mary Churchill*
Associate Dean of Strategic Initiatives and Community Engagement in the Wheelock College of Education and Human Development
Boston University
617-353-4233 | machurch@bu.edu

Waded Cruzado*
President
Montana State University
406-994-2341 | wcruzado@montana.edu
Assistant: Amber Vestal (amber.vestal1@montana.edu)

Maria Gallo
Chancellor
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
410-425-3201| chancellor@uwrf.edu
Assistant: Jenna Lindseth (jenna.lindseth@uwrf.edu )

Lily Hsu*
President
Laboure College
617-322-3500 | lily_hsu@laboure.edu
Assistant: Megan Currivan (megan_currivan@laboure.edu )

Jann Joseph*
President
Georgia Gwinnett College
678-407-5009 | jljoseph@ggc.edu
Assistant: Luann Causland (lcausland@ggc.edu)

Mirta Martin*
President
Fairmont State University
304-367-4151|  Mirta.Martin@FairmontState.edu
Assistant: Serena Scully (Serena.Scully@fairmontstate.edu)

Judy Miner*
Chancellor
Foothill-De Anza Community College District
650-949-6100 | minerjudy@fhda.edu
Assistant: Paula Norsell (norsellpaula@fhda.edu)

Sheila Amin Gutiérrez de Piñeres*
Dean of the Burnett Honors College and Professor of Public Administration
University of Central Florida
407-823-2076 | sheila@ucf.edu
Assistant: Joey Asti (Joey.Asti@ucf.edu)

Judy K. Sakaki (Chair)
President
Sonoma State University 
707-664-2156 | judy.sakaki@sonoma.edu
Assistant: Samantha Graham (grahasam@sonoma.edu)

Nicole Stokes*
Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Saint Joseph's University
610-660-1140 | nstokes@sju.edu

Jewell Winn*
Senior International Officer and Deputy Chief Diversity Officer
Tennessee State University
615-963-7406 | jwinn@tnstate.edu
Assistant: Erica Conn (econn@tnstate.edu)



* With the possibility of a second 3-year term. NOTE: The WNEC term year is July 1-June 30

Madlyn Hanes
Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses and Chancellor, University College
The Pennsylvania State University
814-863-0327 | Mqh3@psu.edu
Assistant: Melanie Ekdahl (mse1@psu.edu)

Luoluo Hong
Vice President of Student Engagement and Well-Being
Georgia Institute of Technology
404-894-2000 | luoluo.hong@gatech.edu

Marsha V. Krotseng
Trustee
HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College
717.254.6293 | mkrotseng@comcast.net

Karen Schuster Webb
President 
Union Institute and University 
513-784-1217 | karen.webb@myunion.edu
Assistant: Susan Grace (susan.grace@myunion.edu)​

Nominate

​The Women's Network Executive Council serves in an advisory capacity to the American Council on Education (ACE) on issues pertaining to the ACE Women's Network and women's leadership in higher education. The WNEC supports the state networks by serving as liaisons to the state network chairs and by providing guidance and advice for strengthening state planning boards and the overall vitality of the state network.

Nominate Someone Now
 
 
​Return to the
ACE Women's Network

Connecting with Your State Network

ACE encourages faculty and women administrators from across the country to join and participate in their respective state network events. ​