ACE Women's Network Executive Council

Who We Are

​The ACE Women's Network Executive Council (WNEC) supports state networks through mentorship, leadership development and as a liaison between the network and the American Council on Education (ACE). The Council advises ACE on issues pertaining to the overall functioning of the ACE Women's Network and women's leadership needs in higher education. Members also serve as speakers and facilitators at ACE and state network events.

The Women's Network Executive Council in 2018

2018-2019 Women's Network Executive Council | Left to Right: Debbie Sydow, Marsha Krotseng, Madlyn Hanes, Maria Gallo, Deborah McCreery, Karen Schuster Webb (Chair), Ellen Kabat Lensch, Evie Myers, and Margaret Drugovich.

Our Regions


History

The name of the WNEC has changed, however they have largely functioned under the same mission. The WNEC started out in 1979 as the Senior Associates of National Identification Program (NIP). Associates were past presidents and served as mentors for women within the NIP program. The group was originally funded by the Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education. In 1991 they were named the National Executive Board of NIP and their mission was established to “promote cross fertilization among the state programs and increase the available support of their efforts" (Shavlik, 1991). The leadership of the WNEC helped to establish initiatives such as Moving the Needle and the Women's Leadership Legacy Fund.

Members

Term ending June 30, 2020

Karen Schuster Webb (Chair)
President
Union Institute and University
513-784-1217 | karen.webb@myunion.edu
Assistant: Susan Grace (susan.grace@myunion.edu)


Term ending June 30, 2021

Maria Gallo*
President
Delaware Valley University
215-489-2203| maria.gallo@delval.edu
Assistant: Kristen Olszewski (kristen.olsewski@delval.edu)

Judy K. Sakaki*
President
Sonoma State University 
707-664-2156 | judy.sakaki@sonoma.edu
Assistant: Samantha Graham (grahasam@sonoma.edu)

Yves Salomon-Fernandez*
President
Greenfield Community College 
617-447-6514 | salomon-fernandezy@gcc.mass.edu
Assistant: Shannon Larange (larange@gcc.mass.edu)

Cynthia Teniente Matson*
President
Texas A&M University- San Antonio
210-784-1601 | cmatson@tamusa.edu 
Assistant: Yvette Milo (yvette.milo@tamusa.edu)


Term ending June 30, 2022

Elizabeth Davis
President
Furman University
864-294-2100 | elizabeth.davis@furman.edu
Assistant: Cindy Alexander (cindy.alexander@furman.edu)

Jessica Egbert*
Executive Vice President of Strategy & Engagement
Rock Mountain University of Health Professions
(801) 734-6812 | jegbert@rmuohp.edu

Anna Gonzalez*
Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Harvey Mudd College
(909) 621-8125 | angonzalez@g.hmc.edu
Assistant: Kim Nykanen (knykanen@g.hmc.edu)

Kimberly (Kim) Lee*
Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness
Albany Technical College
(229) 420-1284 | klee@albanytech.edu
Assistant: Sarah Spurlin (sspurlin@albanytech.edu)

Carolyn Stefanco*
President
The College of Saint Rose
(518) 454-5120 | carolyn.stefanco@strose.edu
Assistant: Maria T. Russo (russom@strose.edu)

* With the possibility of a second 3-year term. NOTE: The WNEC term year is July 1-June 30

Margaret L. Drugovich (Immediate Past Chair)
President
Hartwick College
607-431-4998 | drugovichm@hartwick.edu
Assistant: Lisa Corbett (corbettl@hartwick.edu)

Madlyn Hanes
Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses and Chancellor, University College
The Pennsylvania State University
814-863-0327 | Mqh3@psu.edu
Assistant: Melanie Ekdahl (mse1@psu.edu)

Luoluo Hong
Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
California State University
562-951-4732 | lhong@calstate.edu
Assistant: Jolene Colman (jcolman@calstate.edu)

Marsha V. Krotseng (At-Large Member)
Special Advisor to the Chair of the Board of Governors 
Bluefield State College
304-327-4030 | mkrotseng@bluefieldstate.edu

Deborah McCreery
Assistant Dean for Advancement
Temple University Beasley School of Law
215-204-8934| deborah.mccreery@temple.edu

Nominate

​The Women's Network Executive Council serves in an advisory capacity to the American Council on Education (ACE) on issues pertaining to the ACE Women's Network and women's leadership in higher education. The WNEC supports the state networks by serving as liaisons to the state network chairs and by providing guidance and advice for strengthening state planning boards and the overall vitality of the state network.

 
 

Connecting with Your
State Network

ACE encourages faculty and women administrators from across the country to join and participate in their respective state network events. ​