Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award


​​​​​​​The Council of Fellows Mentor Award recognizes ACE member presidents’ and chancellors’ contributions to enhancing the diversity and capacity of future leaders of American higher education. Nominations are solicited annually by the Council of Fellows from all former Fellows. The award is presented annually at the Opening Plenary of the ACE Annual Meeting by the chair of the Council of Fellows.


2023 Winner

Kim A. Wilcox, University of California, Riverside

Read the press release

Past Award Recipients

ACE has been bestowing the Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award since 2005, when Robert L. Carothers and David P. Roselle became the first ever recipients. Click to expand the area below to learn more about our past recipients.

2022 - Joe Bertolino, Southern Connecticut State University

2021 - Jonathan R. Alger, James Madison University

2020 - Philip L. Dubois​, University of North Carolina at Charlotte​​

2019 - Stanley C. Preczewski, Georgia Gwinett College

2018 - Renu Khator, University of Houston

2017 - Earl H. Potter (Posthumously), St. Cloud State University

2016 - John T. Casteen, III, University of Virginia

2015 - Dennis Holtschneider, DePaul University (IL)

2014 - Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, University of Maryland Baltimore County

2013 - E. Gordon Gee, The Ohio State University

2012 - John Cavanaugh, Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area

2011 - Robert Caret, University of Massachusetts

2010 - Marvalene Hughes, Dillard University (LA)

2010 - Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, George Washington University (DC)

2009 - Robert E. Hemenway, University of Kansas

2008 - Robert Glidden, Ohio University

2007 - Carol A. Cartwright, Kent State University (OH)

2006 - Jerry Sue Thornton, Cuyahoga Community College (OH)

2005 - Robert L. Carothers, University of Rhode Island

2005 - David P. Roselle, University of Delaware



This award is generously sponsored by Fidelity Investments.


​Nominations for this award are not open for public submission.​​