ACE Board of Directors


​Linda A. Livingstone, Chair
President, Baylor University (TX)

Félix V. Matos Rodríguez, Vice Chair/Chair-Elect
Chancellor, The City University of New York

Michael Rao, Immediate Past Chair
President, Virginia Commonwealth University and VCU Health

Ted Mitchell, Ex Officio
President, American Council on Education

Elected Board Members

Roslyn Clark Artis, President, Benedict College (SC)

Kenya Ayers-Palmore, Past President, Tarrant County College Northeast Campus (TX), Ex Officio

Neeli Bendapudi, President, The Pennsylvania State University

Carrie Besnette Hauser, President, Colorado Mountain College

Sylvia M. Burwell, President, American University (DC)

Walter "Ted" Carter, Jr., President, The Ohio State University

Ana Mari Cauce, President, University of Washington

Frank J. Dooley, Chancellor, Purdue University Global (IN)

Harry J. Elam, Jr., President, Occidental College (CA)

Joan T. A. Gabel, Chancellor, University of Pittsburgh​​

Anne M. Kress, President, Northern Virginia Community College

Linda A. Livingstone, President, Baylor University (TX)

Paul J. LeBlanc, President, Southern New Hampshire University

James B. Milliken, Chancellor, The University of Texas System

Juan Sánchez Muñoz, Chancellor, University of California, Merced

Bill Pink, President, Ferris State University (MI)

Scott Pulsipher, President, Western Governors University

Madeline Pumariega, President, Miami Dade College

Félix V. Matos Rodríguez, Chancellor, The City University of New York

Michael Rao, President, Virginia Commonwealth University

Judy K. Sakaki, President Emeritus, Sonoma State University (CA), Ex Officio

Valerie Smith, President, Swarthmore College (PA)

Karen Schuster Webb, President, Union Institute & University

Tom Stritikus, President, Fort Lewis College (CO)

Leocadia I. Zak, President, Agnes Scott College (GA)

Board Members Designated by Associations

American Association of Community Colleges
L. Joy Gates Black, President, Delaware County Community College

American Association of State Colleges and Universities
Heidi M. Anderson, President, University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Association of American Colleges and Universities
Santa J. Ono, President, University of Michigan

Association of American Universities
Gary S. May, Chancellor, University of California, Davis

Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities (ACCU)
Dennis Holtschneider, President, ACCU
Reynold Verret, President, Xavier University of Louisiana

Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities
Mark C. Reed, President, Loyola University Chicago

Association of Public and Land-grant Universities
James P. "Jim" Clements, President, Clemson University (SC)

Council of Independent Colleges
Jorge C. Gonzalez, President, Kalamazoo College (MI)

National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education
Melva K. Wallace, President, Huston-Tillotson University (TX)

National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
Isiaah Crawford, President, University of Puget Sound (WA)

Washington Higher Education Secretariat Designated Representative
Andy Brantley, President and Chief Executive Officer, College and University Professional Association for Human Resources (CUPA-HR)

​​​Become an ACE member and join the nation'​s largest higher education community!

​​​​Join Now​

 Support ACE

​​​Support ACE in building an inclusive, dynamic, and resilient higher education sector. Your gift to ACE will shape the future of U.S. higher education and build on a century of progress.

Support aCE​


If you believe that your work should be fulfilling and your workplace should be collaborative, consider joining our team.

At the American Council on Education, we demonstrate core values such as collaboration, inclusion, and innovation in the way we work and serve our members.

current listings​