Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Email  Share  Print

Gee Receives 2013 ACE Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award

March 03, 2013

2013 Fellows Mentors Award
Click to enlarge.


​E. Gordon Gee, president of The Ohio State University, was presented today with the 2013 Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award* during the opening plenary of ACE's 95th Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

[Pictured left to right: ACE President Molly Corbett Broad; Gordon Gee; John Ragnoni; Bernard Franklin, 2012-13 chair of the Council of Fellows and executive vice president, NCAA; Andrea Warren Hamos; and Joseph Aoun, president, Northeastern University (MA).]

The Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award is bestowed annually to acknowledge the enormous role of mentors in the success of ACE Fellows Program participants.

Established in 1965, the ACE Fellows Program is designed to strengthen institutions and leadership in American higher education by identifying and preparing faculty and staff for senior positions in college and university administration. Nearly 2,000 higher education leaders have participated in the ACE Fellows Program since its inception, with more than 300 Fellows having served as chief executive officers of colleges or universities and more than 1,300 having served as provosts, vice presidents and deans.

"A sustained emphasis on mentorship has long been a hallmark of the ACE Fellows Program," said Andrea Warren Hamos, interim director of ACE's Emerging Leaders Group and the ACE Fellows Program. "Dr. Gee's commitment to the Fellows Program stretches back to 1983, and he has spent many hours mentoring a total of a dozen Fellows, including a member of the 2012-13 class. We are grateful that he and thousands of other presidents and senior leaders have devoted such extensive time and effort over the years to the ACE Fellows Program."

Since 2008, Fidelity Investments® has been a generous supporter of the Fellows Program, enabling the Council of Fellows to provide support for the discretionary fund of the Mentor Award winner's institution as well as the Fellows Fund for the Future, which provides stipends to defray costs for institutions unable to afford the cost of sponsoring a Fellow.

"Fidelity Investments is committed to supporting leadership development in higher education and we congratulate Dr. Gee as this year's Mentor Award recipient," said John Ragnoni, executive vice president, Fidelity Tax-Exempt Market Retirement Services. "Fidelity continues to be a proud supporter of the ACE Fellows program, and we commend the organization for their ongoing dedication to mentoring and developing the nation's next generation of higher education leaders."

Gee's first mentee, Jon S. Whitmore of the 1983-84 Fellows class, went on to the presidencies at San Jose State University (CA) and Texas Tech University and is the current CEO of ACT, Inc. Three of Gee's other mentees also became presidents, including Mark A. Emmert, the current NCAA president and former president of the University of Washington and chancellor of Louisiana State University.

As chief executive officer of The Ohio State University, Gee oversees the institution's six campuses, 65,000 students and 48,000 faculty and staff. Gee is among the most experienced and highly respected leaders in higher education, having been named in 2009 by TIME as one of the top 10 university presidents in the United States.

Prior to his service at Ohio State, he led Vanderbilt University (TN) from 2001-07, Brown University (RI) from 1998-2000, The Ohio State University from 1990-97, the University of Colorado from 1985-90 and West Virginia University from 1981-85. Gee also served as chair of the National Commission on Higher Education Attainment, which in January released an open letter calling higher education leaders to make retention and completion a critical campus priority.

Born in Vernal, Utah, Gee graduated from the University of Utah with an honors degree in history and earned his J.D. and Ed.D degrees from Columbia University (NY). He clerked under Chief Justice David T. Lewis of the U.S. Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals before being named a judicial fellow and staff assistant to the U.S. Supreme Court. In this role, he worked for Chief Justice Warren Burger on administrative and legal problems of the Court and federal judiciary. Gee returned to Utah as an associate professor and associate dean in the J. Reuben Clark Law School at Brigham Young University (UT) and was granted full professorship in 1978. One year later, he was named dean of the West Virginia University Law School.

Previous Recipients of the Council of Fellows Mentor Award (Titles reflect status at time of award):

  • 2012: John C. Cavanaugh, chancellor, Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education
  • 2011: Robert Caret, president, Towson University (MD), and president-elect, University of Massachusetts
  • 2010: Marvalene Hughes, president, Dillard University (LA), and Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, president emeritus, The George Washington University (DC)
  • 2009: Robert Hemenway, chancellor, University of Kansas
  • 2008: Robert Glidden, president emeritus, Ohio University
  • 2007: Carol Cartwright, president emeritus, Kent State University (OH)
  • 2006: Jerry Sue Thornton, president, Cuyahoga Community College (OH)
  • 2005: Robert Carothers, president, University of Rhode Island, and David Roselle, president, University of Delaware

*ACE and Fidelity Investments® are independent entities and are not legally affiliated. The recipients of the Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor Award are selected solely by the Executive Committee of the Council of Fellows. Fidelity employees are not involved, in any way, in determining, selecting or approving the recipient or amount of any award. The selection criteria and guidelines for the award may be obtained directly from ACE.

MEDIA CONTACT: Jonathan Riskind ▪ 202-939-9453 ▪

Other ACE News