Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

The Donna Shavlik Award

This award recognizes sustained and continuing commitment to women's advancement in higher education, either in colleges and universities or in national positions.

The award will be presented on March 14, 2015 at the Women's Leadership Dinner, during the 97th ACE Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. 

Nominations are now closed for the Donna Shavlik Award. Thank you for the submissions.  Please look for an opportunity to nominate colleagues for the 2016 award.

This award was established by ACE in 1999 to honor the long and outstanding service of Donna Shavlik, past director of ACE’s former Office of Women in Higher Education. The award honors an individual whose leadership demonstrates a sustained commitment to advancing women in higher education through actions or initiatives enhancing women’s leadership and career development, campus climate, and mentoring of women at both the state and national levels.


Award Recipients

2014 Elaine P. Maimon, Governors State University (IL)
2013 Karen Haynes, President, California State University San Marcos
2012 Beverly Daniel Tatum, President, Spelman College (GA)
2011 Susan L. Perry, Senior Advisor, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
2010 Blenda J. Wilson, President Emerita, California State University, Northridge Educational Policy Consultant & Board Chair, HERS
2009 Peggy Ryan Williams, President Emerita, Ithaca College (NY)
2008 Adrian Tinsley, President Emerita, Bridgewater State College (MA)
2007 Yolanda T. Moses, Past President of the American Anthropological Association (VA), Professor of Anthropology and the Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity and Excellence at the University of California, Riverside
2006 Donna Shalala, President, University of Miami
2005 Caryn McTighe Musil, Senior Vice President, Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) (DC)
2004 Bette E. Landman, President, Arcadia University (PA)
2003 Bernice (Bunny) Sandler, Senior Scholar, Women's Research and Education Institute (DC)
2002 Cynthia Secor, Founder, Summer Institute for Women in Higher Education Administration Bryn Mawr College (PA) and HERS New England Management Institute for Women in Higher Education, Wellesley College (MA)
2001 Jan Holmgren, President, Mills College (CA)
2000 Judy Touchton, former Associate Director, ACE's former Office of Women in Higher Education
1999 Donna Shavlik, former Director, ACE's former Office of Women in Higher Education

For additional information, please send an email to or call 202-939-9390.​​​

Contact us about The Donna Shavlik Award
Molly Corbett Broad, Donna Shavlik, Elaine Maimon (President, Governors State University) and Kim Bobby.

Back to Special Initiatives