Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award

This award honors individuals who have demonstrated leadership and commitment on a national level to the advancement of racial and ethnic minorities and other under-represented populations in higher education.

Established to honor Dr. Reginald Wilson, the founding director of the Office of Minority Concerns, the award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to diversity in American higher education. 

The Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award will be presented at the Monday Morning Plenary during ACE2018, the American Council on Education's 100th Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. For additional information, email or call 202-939-9376.


Past Award Recipients





Mildred García, President, California State University, Fullerton

Santa J. Ono, President, University of Cincinnati

Amy Gutmann, President, University of Pennsylvania

Charlene M. Dukes, President, Prince George’s Community College (MD)


Johnnetta B. Cole, Director, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution


James M. Rosser, President, California State University, Los Angeles


Nancy Cantor, Chancellor and President, Syracuse University (NY)


Bob Suzuki, President Emeritus, California Polytechnic University, Pomona


Freeman A. Hrabowski III, President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County


Eduardo J. Padron, President, Miami Dade College (FL)


William E. Cox, President/CEO, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education
Frank L. Matthews, Publisher and Editor-in-Chief, Diverse: Issues in Higher Education
James Moeser, Former Chancellor, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Diana S. Natalicio, President, The University of Texas at El Paso


Tomas Arciniega, President Emeritus, California State University-Bakersfield
Jacquelyn M. Belcher, President Emeritus, Georgia Perimeter College
Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis, Chancellor Emeritus, Indiana University-Bloomington


Juliet V. Garcia, Former President, The University of Texas at Brownsville
Frank H.T. Rhodes, President Emeritus, Cornell University
John B. Slaughter, Former President and CEO, The National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, Inc., Former Chancellor, University of Maryland College Park; and former President, Occidental University
Tom Joyner, Nationally Syndicated Radio Personality and Philanthropist


Jewel Plummer Cobb, President and Professor of Biological Science Emerita, and Fullerton and Trustee Professor, California State University- Fullerton
James J. Duderstadt, President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, University of Michigan
Alfredo G. de los Santos Jr., Former Vice Chancellor for Educational and Student Development, Maricopa Community Colleges, and Research Professor, Arizona State University Main Campus

Contact us about Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award