COMMITTEE ON INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION

The Committee on International Education serves as the advisory body to the Office of International Education. In the area of study abroad, it reviews proposals for new programs and program changes, selects students for study abroad programs, and reviews and recommends policies. Additionally, the Committee addresses international student concerns, curricular issues, faculty and staff development, and other matters related to international education.

2011/12 members:

- Ben Newton (Mathematics)
 Josh Hall (Economics), Committee Chair, Spring 2013
- Amy Tibbitts (Modern Languages and Literatures), Committee Chair, Fall 2012
- John Juncgk (Biology)
- Susan Rice (Music) Christina Eddington (ESL)
- Elizabeth Brewer (International Education)
- Tessa Wood, Academic Senate Student Representative
- Alen Keric, International Student Representative

While the Committee's primary activity was the evaluation of applications for study abroad, the Committee also

- Surveyed faculty and students about perceptions around intention to study off-campus. Student
 members met with BelCon to discuss the same topic with the findings presented to the
 Academic Senate at its final meeting of the year;
- Reviewed a proposal from Debra Majeed (Religious Studies) for a semester-long program on Comparative Religion in Morocco to be initially held in fall 2013. The program was subsequently approved by the Academic Senate;
- Reviewed a call for proposals for curriculum development activities in 2012/13. The call was announced in May 2012;
- Approved a proposal on satisfying the Liberal Arts in Practice Requirement; the document has been posted to both the OIE and Registrar's Office websites and incorporated into the study abroad and domestic off campus study applications; and
- Met with Russell Cannon, Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment to discuss the assessment of study abroad. Rubrics have since been developed to use to assess students' post-study abroad reflection/evaluations.

2012/13 faculty members:

- Lisa Anderson-Levy (Anthropology)
- Christina Eddington (ESL)
- Josh Hall (Economics)
- Carl Mendelson (Geology)

- Oswaldo Voysest (Modern Languages and Literatures)
- Lisl Walsh (Classics)