Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Email  Share  Print

New Association of Chief Academic Officers to Convene at ACE Annual Meeting in San Diego

February 14, 2014

man smiling

Eligible Institutions Encouraged to Join Now as Charter Members

​There is still time to join the first national professional organization representing chief academic officers (CAOs) ahead of its session at ACE’s 96th Annual Meeting, March 8-11 in San Diego.

The Association of Chief Academic Officers (ACAO) will vote on bylaws and conduct other business when members assemble at the meeting. The ACAO business session and other sessions for CAOs are scheduled for Sunday, March 9. The ACAO will sponsor a breakfast for chief academic officers prior to its 8 a.m. business session.

The ACAO will represent CAOs such as provosts and vice presidents for academic affairs from all accredited higher education institutions and provide an environment where they can communicate with, inform and educate one another.

Eligible institutions are encouraged to join ACAO as charter members. Among the benefits: charter institutions will be listed permanently on the ACAO website and their CAOs will be recognized as leaders in the formation of the organization. Those interested in charter membership can click here.

The ACAO held its initial organizational meeting during ACE’s 2013 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. At the upcoming meeting in San Diego, ACAO members will have the opportunity to provide input and vote on the association’s bylaws; elect a slate of officers during the association business session (interested CAOs may seek office); and immediately begin working with their colleagues to analyze pressing academic affairs issues.

For more information about the ACAO, see the organization’s recently launched website.

ACE, in its role as a convener for higher education associations, has assisted in the startup of the organization, which is designed to fill a void in serving the professional development and networking needs of CAOs across all types of accredited higher education institutions.

A steering committee, chaired by Wendy K. Wilkins, New Mexico State University executive vice president and provost emerita, has worked on the ACAO’s launch. The other steering committee members are Denise A. Battles, University of North Carolina, Wilmington; Doris Helms, Clemson University (SC) provost emerita; April Mason, Kansas State University; Steve O. Michael, Arcadia University (PA); and Carolyn J. Stefanco, Agnes Scott College (GA).  

Other ACE News


 Related Content