

One Dupont Circle NW Washington, DC 20036 (202) 939-9300 acenet.edu

March 7, 2017

Senator Mitch McConnell Majority Leader United States Senate S-230, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

Senator Lamar Alexander Chairman Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions United States Senate 428 Senate Dirksen Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Senator Charles Schumer Minority Leader United States Senate S-221, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

Senator Patty Murray Ranking Member Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions United States Senate 428 Senate Dirksen Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leaders McConnell and Schumer, Chairman Alexander and Ranking Member Murray:

We write in support of S. J. Res. 26, a resolution of disapproval under the Congressional Review Act to block implementation of an October 2016 rule related to teacher preparation programs. This resolution was introduced by Sen. Sasse last week, and we look forward to its consideration by the Senate in the near future.

We share with you a desire to ensure that American educators are fully prepared to succeed in the classroom, and welcome appropriate regulation that serves those goals. For this reason, we had regularly offered detailed commentary and suggestions for improving the rule throughout its extended consideration.

Unfortunately, the Department of Education did not heed this advice, and proceeded to finalize a flawed rule last fall that does not reflect cutting edge professional practice and which we believe will have significant adverse consequences. The promulgation of this rule is even more troubling considering the recent enactment into law of the Every Student Succeeds Act, which bars the Department from prescribing the structure of state teacher evaluation systems.

Such an outcome has necessitated Congressional action, and we appreciate your efforts in this area. We encourage the members of the Senate to support this resolution, and look forward to working with you to ensure its final passage.

Sincerely,

nelle C. Bond

Molly Corbett Broad President

MCB/ldw

Higher Education Associations Letter on S.J. Res. 26 March 7, 2017

On behalf of:

American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education American Association of Community Colleges American Association of State Colleges and Universities American Council on Education Association of American Universities Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities Association of Public and Land-grant Universities Council for Christian Colleges and Universities **Council for Higher Education Accreditation** Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education National Association of College and University Business Officers National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities Thurgood Marshall College Fund UNCF