

THE AMERICAN COUNCIL ON EDUCATION'S 122 ORIGINAL MEMBER INSTITUTIONS

ALABAMA

Alabama Polytechnic Institute now Auburn University

CALIFORNIA

California Institute of Technology Leland Stanford Junior University Mills College Occidental College Pomona College University of California University of Southern California

COLORADO

Colorado College Colorado State Teachers' College *now University of Northern Colorado* University of Colorado

CONNECTICUT

Connecticut College Wesleyan University Yale University

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Catholic University of America

GEORGIA Brenau College

ILLINOIS

De Paul University Eureka College James Millikin University *now Millikin University* Knox College Northwestern University Rockford College University of Chicago University of Illinois YMCA College of Chicago *now Roosevelt University*

INDIANA

Butler College DePauw University Rose Polytechnic Institute University of Notre Dame

IOWA

Cornell College Grinnell College Iowa State Teachers College *now University of Northern Iowa* Luther College Union College of Iowa Upper Iowa University

ACE Original Member Institutions

KANSAS

Baker University Washburn College

KENTUCKY

Centre College Georgetown College University of Kentucky

MAINE

Bowdoin College

MARYLAND

Goucher College Johns Hopkins University Maryland College for Women University of Maryland

MASSACHUSETTS

Boston University Harvard University Mount Holyoke College Radcliffe College Smith College Tufts College Wellesley College Wheaton College

MICHIGAN

Albion College Alma College Kalamazoo College University of Michigan

MINNESOTA

Carleton College College of St. Catherine College of St. Olaf College of St. Teresa College of St. Thomas Hamline University Macalester College University of Minnesota

MISSOURI

Kirksville State Teachers' College now Truman State University Southeast Missouri State Teachers' College now Southeast Missouri State University

MONTANA University of Montana

NEW HAMPSHIRE Dartmouth College

NEW JERSEY College of St. Elizabeth

NEW YORK

Alfred University Colgate University Columbia University Hamilton College New York University University of Rochester Wells College

NORTH CAROLINA

Elon College St. Genevieve's College University of North Carolina

- 2 -

ACE Original Member Institutions

OHIO

Case School of Applied Science merged with Western Reserve University to form Case Western Reserve University Defiance College Denison University Lake Erie College Marietta College Miami University Municipal University of Akron now University of Akron Muskingum College Oberlin College Ohio State University Ohio Wesleyan University Otterbein University Western College for Women became part of Miami University Western Reserve University merged with Case School to form Case Western Reserve University

OREGON

University of Oregon

PENNSYLVANIA

Allegheny College Bryn Mawr College Carnegie Institute of Technology Drexel Institute Dropsie College *now a part of University of Pennsylvania* Grove City College Haverford College Lafayette College Lehigh University Temple University University of Pennsylvania University of Pittsburgh

SOUTH CAROLINA

Winthrop Normal and Industrial College now Winthrop University

SOUTH DAKOTA

Huron College University of South Dakota

TEXAS

College of Industrial Arts now Texas Women's University University of Texas

VERMONT

University of Vermont

VIRGINIA

Sweet Briar College University of Virginia

WISCONSIN

Beloit College
Campion College
Lawrence College *now Lawrence University*Marquette University
Milwaukee-Downer College
Ripon College
St. Clara College *name change to Rosary College and moved to Illinois, then merged into Dominican University*